Ivytree Nursery Hampton logo image


The Early Foundation Stage curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is delivered through carefully planned activities and play opportunities to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to reach their full potential and experience the best possible start to their education. The EYFS sets out seven ’Areas of Learning and Development‘ and together these make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for children as they grow, learn and develop. They are:

Prime areas

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
2. Physical Development
3. Communication and Language

Specific Areas

1. Literacy
2. Mathematics
3. Understanding the World
4. Expressive Arts and Design

Dressing up
Solving puzzles
Stepping stones
Bushy Park
Ivytree toad
Paper play
Water play
Water play
colouring in
Solving puzzles
Outside trips


The Early Foundation Stage curriculum

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas. The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society. Together they provide a balanced nursery curriculum.

4Children along with the DfE have published a really good guide that explains what your child should roughly be doing at each stage of their development, along with some ideas to help at home.

Download the 4 children document here

British values

How we promote and teach British values

At Ivytree Nursery we value all of our children and families. We promote mutual respect and are an inclusive setting. We want children to be independent learners so that they can make their own choices and build and develop strong relationships and friendships. We want children to join in and try their best and to follow our simple rainbow rules.
  • We listen to each other
  • We share and take turns
  • We walk inside
  • We look after our nursery
  • We are kind to each other

All of these things are the foundations for growing in to good citizens and promote the ‘British Values’ of democracy, the rule of the law, individual liberty, mutual respect and tolerance.

  • We treat everybody equally
  • We understand right from wrong
  • We listen to respect other people’s opinions and values
  • We help other people
  • We know that we are all special
  • We understand and respect the roles of people who help us